Author Topic: Wilwood Brake Pad Help  (Read 14771 times)

WILD56

• P Plater
Wilwood Brake Pad Help
« on: June 14, 2018, 11:45:01 AM »
Gday guys,

I have Wilwood rotors and calipers all around on the F100. They currently have racing compound pads, which came with the kits. The pads are the softest compound (as far as i can tell) that Wilwood provides in their kits (BP-10). They are still extremely hard for my needs and driving style.

The pads require a lot of heat to be efficient in what they do, also known as "stopping". My truck is heavy an takes a while to actually come to a stop, even at lower speeds. As a result I am a very careful driver, especially in traffic.

I contacted Bendix, they said "not a chance" on their end. They don't have anything for Wilwood applications.

I contacted Northern Brake and Clutch in Victoria under recommendation, as he apparently knows everything about brakes and is a nice guy. The owner is hands down the rudest prick in the world. So I guess he was a dead end.

Summit Racing and similar all have other manufacturers race compound pads for my application. But that's just it, they are all race compounds. I require the softest compound I can find.

In this wide world of ours I am sure Im not the only one that has come across this issue. The rotors and calipers that I have are widely used on aftermarket applications for street use.

At this stage I am unsure where to look. Image attached for reference. I appreciate any feedback.

Cheers
Stan

sms777

• Rally Licence
  • Sponsor & The Mechanic
Re: Wilwood Brake Pad Help
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2018, 08:08:25 PM »
G'day Stan,