Author Topic: Help! Car died...!  (Read 5620 times)

Zoltan

• Speedster
  • Welcome
Help! Car died...!
« on: October 18, 2014, 04:35:26 PM »
If anyone with auto electrical knowledge is passing by the Padstow area anytime this weekend, I'd appreciate a phone call... my car has died and won't start (even with jump start)  :thud:

I've parked a few minutes down the road from where I live - please call me on 0425 212 286 if you're willing to help.

joe74ta

• Top Fuel Pilot
Re: Help! Car died...!
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 05:34:46 PM »
Im not an auto electrician but it sounds like Distributor Module to me  :thud: they just quit no warning due to heat here is a link to the part best buy two of them and keep one in the glove box.

https://pontiworld.com.au/usgmsp/product_info.php?cPath=207_230&products_id=4294&osCsid=659ff6f1cf797ca195df5e657034dc60

silverz

• Speedster
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2014, 06:17:35 PM »
Hi Peter, just saw your post, but not much info? Joe might be right as I had one of these fail a few years back. I’m no auto elec so I’d normally call the NRMA. Failing that, there are a few things you could check before calling Dave McIlhagga on Monday to aid troubleshooting. There are 2 normal fuses you could check in the fuse box, a 5 & a 10 related to ignition. This might be oversimplifying but it has to be either spark or fuel. If it’s cranking and you know it has fuel, pull a plug lead and see if you get a fat spark when you arc it to earth.  If you do then it might be worth opening a fuel line upstream of the pump to see if you’re getting good flow when cranking. (Could be a faulty pump, gauge or transmitter). Be careful jumpstarting, on some models it’s easy to fry a computer.
Good luck, Bob.

Zoltan

• Speedster
  • Welcome
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2014, 07:08:50 PM »
Hey Bob,